Phone: (608) 348-8888

Attractions

Platteville & Surrounding Area Attractions

The “M”

Facts at a Glance

  • An “M” is the official symbol for the “Miners” of the Wisconsin Institute of Technology, formerly the Wisconsin Mining School and currently the University of Wisconsin-Platteville.
  • Platte Mound is 150 feet high and rises an estimated 400 feet above the city of Platteville, is one mile long and one half mile wide. It is about five miles from campus.
  • Total area of the “M” exceeds one acre and is approximately 24,000 square feet in area.
  • The “M” is built on a 45-degree slope of the Platte Mound and can be seen from high points in Iowa, Illinois and Wisconsin.
  • The engineers at the Wisconsin Mining School finished construction of the “M” on May 19, 1937.
  • The legs are about 241 feet high and 214 feet apart. Each leg is 45 feet at the base and 25 feet wide at the center.
  • Howard B. Morrow, president of the Wisconsin Mining School, helped supervise the construction.
  • The engineering students moved four tons of rock and limestone using picks, crowbars and wheelbarrows to shape the “M.”
  • On March 31, 1960, L.R. Clausen, landowner of 93 acres of the mound, donated the land to officially make it part of the Wisconsin Mining School.
  • The “M” was featured in an issue of Life Magazine on May 23, 1949, and by MTV in 1987.

 

 

m

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The M

The Mining & Rollo Jamison Museum

The Mining Museum traces developmeRollo Jamison Museumnt of lead and zinc mining in the Upper Mississippi Valley Lead-Zinc District using artifacts, models, dioramas, and photographs. For a hands-on experience, visitors can tour underground in the 1845 Bevans Lead Mine and ride above ground in ore cars pulled by a 1931 zinc mine locomotive.

Rollo Jamison was born in Beetown, WI in 1899 and started collecting arrowheads on the family farm as a boy. Rollo Jamison’s collection grew to more than 20,000 items that illustrate everyday life of the people residing in Southwest Wisconsin. You can come see many of these items at the Rollo Jamison Museum on a self-guided tour, including carriages, farm implements, military items, small town business, home life, education, music, and many others antique pieces. 

Mitchell Rountree Stone Cottage

Stone CottageBuilt in 1837 by the Rev. Samuel Mitchell, the Stone Cottage stands today as it did 150 years ago. Much of the interior is the original furnishings of the home which was the private residence of the Rountree family and kept in its original state until the 1960′s when it was turned over to the Grant County Historical Society. The Rev. Mitchell was a soldier during the American Revolutionary War under General Washington and present during the surrender of Cornwallis in Yorktown. Historians consider the cottage a “gem like no other in Wisconsin” with its two-foot thick walls of dolomite Galena limestone. Rev. Mitchell was the father-in-law of Major John Rountree, one of the founders of Platteville.

Rountree Hall

Roundtree HallNo other building in Platteville stands as a reminder of Platteville’s past as does historic Rountree Hall, site of the original Platteville Academy. The Academy was in existence from 1842-1866 when it was converted to a State Normal School. The North wing was dedicated a year later by Gen. Ulysses S. Grant. Since then the Rountree Hall has seen many changes from being Wisconsin’s Mining Trade School to Wisconsin State College at Platteville. But on April 9, 1987 a tragic event took place when a fire destroyed part of the main section and the historic Bell Tower. Since the Fire in 1987, Rountree Hall has been renovated and serves a different purpose by housing many of University of Wisconsin Platteville students who come to Platteville.